HistWriter.com features the novels and short fiction of Dr Maybelle Wallis.

Her debut novel HEART OF CRUELTY won ‘Meet the Publisher’ at the 2020 Wexford Literary Festival and was published by Poolbeg.

This dark and twisting tale is set in Victorian England. Jane Verity’s elopement with an actor has ended in the cruelties of the Birmingham workhouse: a hidden corruption that she will uncover when Coroner William Doughty takes her on as a servant and she learns of his inquests. As she tries to tell him, he falls in love. Yet if he acts, it will destroy him…

Read more: (link)

Amazon UK

The second novel in the series, THE PIANO PLAYER, is published in August 2022.

Jane and William are long estranged, yet both must face the perils of Dublin during the Great Famine, with its pomp and squalor, its disease-ridden slums, and its murderers. Exploring a pivotal epoch in Irish history, this is an intricate tale of music and medicine, of trust and trickery, of destructive secrets and lost love.

Maybelle Wallis has also written over 70 short stories, some historical and others contemporary. Read them here: (link)

The HistWriter e-newsletter contains snippets of historical interest and ‘From the Writer’s Bookshelf’ book reviews that include historical fiction, history and antiquarian or collectable books:

Link to subscription page

Click to read more

An eBook collection of 20 historical short stories In Other Times is a free download for subscribers to The HistWriter:


Skip to toolbar